pin1 Hoppin Street - Providence, RI
emailEmail: mmachado@lifespan.org
phone-iconPhone: (401) 444-0392

Dr. Gideon Koren is interested in understanding the pathogenesis of cardiac arrhythmias through three main lines of investigation: 1) Genomic studies to elucidate the transcriptional program(s) that control the expression of membrane polypeptides involved in determining the duration of cardiac action potential and early and late afterdepolarizations, as well as the aging of the heart. As part of these studies Dr. Koren is interested in studying the differentiation and senescence of adult cardiac stem cells; 2) Investigation of the trafficking and localization of voltage-gated potassium channels in the cardiomyocytes; and 3) Creation of genetically modified animal models for studying sudden cardiac death. Dr. Koren's laboratory is also focusing on the molecular mechanisms underlying the trafficking post translational modifications and turnover of Kv1.5 and KV2.1 potassium channels in the heart and protein interactions between HERG and KCNQ1. His group is characterizing the macromolecular complex (channelosome) that modulates the localization and function of several delayed rectifier potassium channels in the heart. In addition, his laboratory has analyzed and compared the phenotype of two novel transgenic rabbit models of long QT syndrome 1and 2 (LQT1 and LQT2) using surface ECG; monitoring of alert, free-moving rabbits, programmed electrical stimulation (PES) of the right ventricle of anesthetized rabbits, and analyses of the biochemical and electrophysiological phenotype of rabbit cardiomyocytes derived from the epicardial, mid-myocardial, and endocardial layers of the left ventricle.


Gideon Koren, MD (Gideon_Koren@Brown.edu)
Professor of Medicine, Director, Cardiovascular Research Center
Rhode Island Hospital and Brown University

 Click Here for Dr. Koren's Publications

Laboratory Staff

Karim Roder, PhD
Assistant Professor
Rhode Island Hospital and Brown University
Email: Karim.Roder@Lifespan.org
Karni Moshal, PhD
Instructor of Medicine
Rhode Island Hospital and Brown University
Email: KMoshal@Lifespan.org
Kevin R. Murphy, AM
PhD Candidate, Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry
Brown University
Email: Kevin_Murphy@Brown.edu
YiChun Lu, MS
Senior Research Assistant
Rhode Island Hospital
Email: YLu@Lifespan.org

Brett Baggett, BS
PhD Candidate
Rhode Island Hospital and Brown University
Email: brett_baggett@brown.edu

Anatoli Kabakov, PhD
Assistant Professor
Rhode Island Hospital and Brown University
Email: Anatoli.Kabakov@lifespan.org

 

Nilufer Turan Dural, PhD
Micro Surgeon
Rhode Island Hospital and Brown University
Email: Nilufertu@gmail.com

  

© 2015 Cardiovascular Research Center. All rights reserved.